Black Butte Porter

Deschutes Brewery

Bend, OR

http://www.deschutesbrewery.com

ABV- 5.2%

IBU – Unavailable

My father-in-law likes his beers dark. Often times when he comes into town for a visit he’ll tell me about the beers he’s sampled since we last saw him. Coming from the Pacific Northwest, he has quite a few to choose from. A few months ago, he brought along one of his favorites. Black Butte Porter from Deschutes Brewery in Bend, Oregon.

 I recently stumbled upon a couple of bottles of Black Butte Porter that were left behind in our fridge. Remembering how much I enjoyed Black Butte the first time I had it, I figured it would make an ideal subject for one of my reviews.

 Black Butte Porter is black in the glass. It doesn’t have a head so much as a loose beige foam that quickly dissipates, leaving behind a little bit of film that floats atop the porter. It appears to be nicely carbonated.

 The aroma is heavily chocolate malt. It honestly smells fantastic.

 The first sip delivers rich roasted malt and coffee flavors. It has a dry finish and a slightly bitter aftertaste.

 I really enjoyed Black Butte Porter. I must be honest. Part of the enjoyment comes from joking with my kids that the name is actually “Black Butt Porter” (Sorry, I’m a six year old in a thirty-six year old body).

 Black Butte is a nearly perfect porter. I would have another in a heartbeat…in fact, let me check in my fridge…that may be sooner than later.

 I’d certainly recommend Deschutes’ Black Butte Porter to my friends. I’d also offer the advice that Black Butte Porter is best consumed early in the evening. It’s richness and complexity are deserving of your undivided attention…before a night of drinking numbs your taste buds.

 cheers,

Josh Frank

jfrank2264@gmail.com

