Coffee Stout

New Glarus Brewing

New Glarus, WI

www.newglarusbrewing.com

ABV – 6.3%

IBU – Unavailable

You can smell the chocolate malts and coffee that go into New Glarus’s Coffee Stout the second you open the bottle. Truly a beautiful thing.

 New Glarus Coffee Stout appears black in my pint glass…it has a creamy off-white head that starts out about half an inch thick. Nice head retention as well. It hung around for a few minutes fading to a beige film atop the pitch black brew.

 You can definitely taste the coffee in this brew. It compliments the roasted malt flavors nicely. New Glarus Coffee Stout is thick, rich and creamy with a slightly bitter finish.

 Something in my brain is imagining how fantastic a New Glarus Coffee Stout Chocolate Cake might be…but that’s a topic for another day. Back to the beer.

 While I’ve had many of New Glarus Brewing’s other offerings, this is my first experience with their Coffee Stout. This was a phenomenal beer. I think it could be enjoyed by both stout aficionados and those that are new to the style. I will certainly be picking up more of New Glarus’s Coffee Stout whenever I can.

Cheers…

Josh Frank

