Sasquatch Stout

Pangaea BeerCompany

Wisconsin Rapids, WI

www.pangaeabeers.com

ABV – 7%

IBU – 60

Pangaea’s Sasquatch Stout combines two of my favorite things…Bigfoot (yeah that’s right…Bigfoot, Nessie, little green men from outer space…I believe in them all) and beer. This is not just any beer either. Sasquatch Stout is black…black and opaque. If not for the creamy tan head and the steady stream of bubbles rising from it’s murky depths, you could very easily convince yourself that you were about to drink a glass of tar. Yes…it’s that dark.

Sasquatch Stout smells wonderful…all roasted malt with hints of chocolate. I bet the real Sasquatch wishes he smelled like this…might make it easier for him to pick up the girl Sasqatches if he smelled like roasted malt and chocolate instead of Sasquatch BO. Sorry that was an unexpected tangent, huh. Caught me by surprise too…won’t happen again.

With Sasquatch Stout, Pangaea created a brew that is thick, rich and creamy. The roasted malt tastes as awesome as it smells and the chocolate and coffee tones come through beautifully. The strangest thing is sort of a surprise hoppiness that comes in the backdoor and sticks around for a bit between sips. It actually seems a bit like an oatmeal stout, but I haven’t seen it defined anywhere, so who knows for sure. I guess its a mystery just like Sasquatch himself.

I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect from Sasquatch Stout. I’ve had a couple of Pangaea’s other brews and found them less than impressive. So I was a little apprehensive when it came to my first bottle of Sasqatch.

Sasquatch Stout is actually quite a complex beer. Personally, I think it would make an awesome session ale…but at 7% ABV, a few people might disagree with me on that one.

Without a doubt, you need to go pick up some Sasquatch Stout.

Cheers…

Josh Frank

