Squatter’s Beers

Salt Lake City, Utah

www.squatters.com

Hop Rising Double IPA

9% ABV

75 IBU

Two words. Mother’s Milk, plain and simple. Or perhaps a hop-a-riffic nectar of the gods.

I poured this fine beverage into my Goose Island tulip glass…not really sure what to expect. I’d enjoyed Squatter’s IPA and had high hopes for Hop Rising, their Double IPA.

Hop Rising is a golden, honey-colored brew. When I initially poured it, a one inch off-white head formed, but it quickly dissipated leaving a thin white film.

Hop Rising has a wonderful piney hop aroma coupled with the slightest maltiness (is maltiness actually a word?).

This lovely ale is sweet at first with the slightest alcohol flavors. At 9%, some alcohol flavors are to be expected…so not a big deal. The initial sweetness is quickly overtaken by an intense though quite pleasant hoppiness.

Hop Rising is crisp and clean, but with a fantastic complexity that challenges your senses. I personally found it thirst quenching as well as the perfect remedy to the stress of a long day.

Squatter’s Beers’ Hop Rising Double IPA is a beer that I will definitely seek out as often as I can. At 9%ABV, its far from a session ale. It is more a beer that you might start an evening with so that you can really enjoy the flavors and aromas.

I find myself quite impressed with Squatter’s Beers and along with their brew am eager to track down some merchandise for purchase as I would be proud to wear a Squatter’s Beer’s t-shirt.

I’m looking forward to sharing some Hop Rising with my dad as well as turning my friends on to this fine beverage.

Drop me an e-mail at jfrank2264@gmail.com if you’d happen to know where I can get my hands on a Squatter’s Beers t-shirt. As of the writing of this review, their site appears to be having some issues, but hopefully it will be back up soon.

I suggest you stop what you’re doing and run out right now to grab yourself some Hop Rising Double IPA. No worries. BeernShtuff will be here when you get back with more beer reviews and other cool beer stuff.

Cheers.

Josh Frank

