Squatter’s Beers

Salt Lake City, Utah

India Pale Ale
 55 IBU

6.5% ABV

 

I poured the Squatter’s IPA into my Goose Island tulip glass Honestly, I’ve yet to find a better glass when it comes to sipping an IPA than my trusty Goose Island tulip.

 Squatter’s IPA is certainly a pretty ale. It’s on the darker side of golden, edging slightly toward amber. It’s white head dissipates quickly leaving little more than a thin film floating atop the beer.

 The aroma is citrusy hop goodness all the way. I had to force myself to stop smelling it long enough to actually take a sip.  At one point, I may have gotten my nose a little too close as I came away with beer dripping from the end.

The first sip had a metallic, slightly sour flavor. I was concerned as I’d had such high hopes. However, the metallic flavor was quickly replaced by a nice hoppy citrus. The beer is crisp, clean and nicely effervescent. It finishes dry and the hop bitterness lingers on your tongue.

I am pleased to say that after the first sip, the metallic/sour flavors never returned.

 Squatter’s IPA is a great beer. I’m hoping to pick up some more to share with my dad as well as some of my other hophead friends. I’m curious to see if the metallic flavors turn up in other bottles of it was just a fluke.  It actually seemed hoppier than a mere 55 IBU’s, but I’m not complaining.  To steal from a coffee ad, it was “Good to the last drop”

I think it is safe to say there is more Squatter’s IPA in my future.

Cheers,

Josh Frank

 

 

 

