Bitter Woman IPA in Tulip Glass

Sorry it’s been a while, I’ve been camping in Door County in Wisconsin…and will actually have a bunch of new reviews related to that trek in the coming days…but here is my latest review.

Bitter Woman IPA

Tyranena Brewing Company

www.tyranena.com

Lake Mills, WI

IBU – unavailable

ABV – unavailable

Tyranena Brewing Company calls Bitter Woman IPA a “Wisconsin version of an IPA”. It is named in honor of an early Lake Mills, WI resident named “Aunt Cal” who was romantically linked to Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.

 I grabbed my trusty tulip glass and poured my bottle of Bitter Woman. The ale was golden, almost orange in color, sporting a thin white head that clung to the glass.

 The aroma is sweet yet with a strong floral hoppiness. Not to get too sappy here, but I sometimes think that if there’s a heaven, I hope it smells like Bitter Woman IPA.

 The first thing to hit your tongue is the sweetness of the malt…which is quickly swept away by an intense hoppy bitterness that lingers in your mouth, teasing the goodness that awaits you in the rest of the glass.

 This IPA has long been one of my favorites. I think I’ve recommended it to everyone I know that drinks beer at some point. It’s a beer that hopheads will love instantly but might be a little bit intense for those that are new to the style.

 Bitter Woman IPA is a beer that I personally look forward to drinking on tap every year the Great Lakes Brewfest. It is a beer that I know I can count when I am in need of a crisp, refreshing IPA.

In my opinion…this is a 5 star beer.

Track it down, give it a try. I think you’ll love it.

Cheers.

Josh Frank

jfrank2264@gmail.com

 PS.

If you have any beers you’d like for me to check out and review here, drop me a line with the name of a  shop where I can find a bottle or two

